About the OLA – for students

The Online Learning Agreement is a digital solution built by universities and students, with the support of the European Commission, for one of the most important steps of any Erasmus exchange: correctly managing the Learning Agreement, which is a central document to ensure the recognition of ECTS earned abroad.

Over the years we sought to ensure the OLA is as user-friendly as possible, and we hope you will enjoy using it!

About the OLA – for universities

The Online Learning Agreement was originally developed in 2014 as an internal experiment at the EUF. Its early prototype was very well received by the universities in our network, which decided to share it with the whole HE community.

Over the years the OLA was perfected and thoroughly tested through three consecutive Erasmus+ KA2 Strategic Partnership funded by the Luxembourg National Agency, and today it is becoming the reference implementation for digital Learning Agreements in the context of the 2021-2027 Erasmus programme, as per the European Student Card Initiative (see roadmap here https://ec.europa.eu/education/education-in-the-eu/european-student-card-initiative_en).

Digital Learning Agreements have been shown to drastically reduce administrative workload, making it much easier for students and IROs to review, finalise the document and approve it online.

Our expectation is that the Online Learning Agreement platform that is flexible, reliable, user-friendly and transparent to all actors involved may play a key role in supporting European universities in transition to fully digital Learning Agreements from 2021 onwards.

The team responsible for the current project (called OLA 3.0) is composed by the following institutions:

  • Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)
  • Erasmus Student Network (Belgium)
  • Erasmus University of Rotterdam (The Netherlands)
  • European University Foundation (Luxembourg)
  • University of Alcala (Spain)
  • University of Bergen (Norway)
  • University of Luxembourg (Luxembourg)
  • University of Marburg (Germany)
  • University of Vienna (Austria)
  • University of Warsaw (Poland)
  • University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne (France)